rainteach

English teacher moonlighting as school newspaper coach. I like words. The picture below is of plants called succulents. I like that word: succulents.

#bannedbooksweek

Leave a comment

They Will Climb The Walls

IMG_2149-0.JPG

My #bannedbooksweek story takes place in Elementary School, 4th grade, when I learned that people ban books and a partial reason why.

I was that kid in school that asked the teacher to spend time in the library whenever the chance arose. I kept to myself throughout elementary school, and it was at its worst by 3rd grade. I was teased a lot, mainly name calling and sometimes physical violence that was looked over by my teacher. But I realized if I kept to myself as much as possible, I could go unnoticed by everyone for the most part.

During 4th grade, one of my only friends at school was my librarian which sounds pathetic, but it’s something I will never regret. At first blush, she was very intimidating. Looking back on when I met her now that I’m an adult, she seemed to hate children, hate her job, or…

View original post 1,206 more words

Author: rainteach

High school English teacher. Sponsor: IKE PATRIOT online newspaper, Poetry Out Loud, and Amnesty International Student Organization.

And YOU? What do YOU have to say?

